[Drama News] MOZU Starring Nishijima Hidetoshi, Kagawa Teruyuki and Maki Yoko

Oh look Hanjae, it’s uri Kikutaaaaa ~ *cough**cough* I mean Nishijima Hidetoshi!

Nijishima Hidetoshi has a new drama named MOZU and turns out he reunites with Kagawa Teruyuki after their highly successful drama back in 2012, Double Face – a remake of award winning Hong Kong movie, Infernal Affairs. First of all, I’m just going to say this: ‘WHUT? I didn’t know they remake Infernal Affairs!’ Forgive my ignorance, 2012 was the year when I was obsessed with K-drama Faith and all other dramas thus became a blur.

Anyway, now that I know… maybe I should check it out although it takes away the excitement when I have seen the original(s) and the US adaptation The Departed (this one is totally screwed up though and turned out quite far from the original).

Like Double Face, MOZU is co-produced by two TV stations TBS and WOWOW. Mozu Season 1 will be aired on TBS and WOWOW will proceed to air Season 2 some time in July. MOZU is based on the popular novel Mozu no Sakebu Yoru by acclaimed Japanese author Go Osaka and it will be directed by Eiichiro Hasumi (Double Face and Sea Monkey). Much like Double Face, Infernal Affairs and The Departed, MOZU is centred on two main characters in a thrilling and intense game of cat and mouse.

Sounds pretty interesting, hey? This drama has huge production casts; the teasers and BGM look/sound like a movie-like sort of production too so I think it is worth checking out.

Full Casts

Title: MOZU Season 1 ~百舌の叫ぶ夜
Broadcast Network: TBS
Broadcast Date: 10th April (Thursday) at 9 PM
Director: Eiichiro Hasumi
Script Writer: Kosuke Nishi
Official website: http://www.tbs.co.jp/mozu_tbs

Plot Summary

Kuraki (Nijishima Hidetoshi) is the ace of public security at the Metropolitan Police Department (oh cool, you can look for Oguri Shun), who lost his wife in a bomb incident. Kuraki, Detective Osugi (Kagawa Teruyuki) and Miki (Maki Yoko) are also from the police security team and they ended up working together to solve the mystery of the bombing incident. It led them to the mystery of a contract Killer named Mozu (meaning Butcher-bird) – a tragedy ignited by a secret mission by police security and a scheme that will shake the nation.

Season 1 titled ‘Mozu no sakebu yoru’ features the case of Kuraki’s wife being killed by an explosion engineered by MOZU while season 2 titled ‘Maboroshi no Tsubasa’ will be a nonstop action suspense under the frame of theatrical movie and will be about a mass murder at a hospital. The story progresses with depth and psychology. As Kuraki challenges crimes, he faces conspiracy beyond the borders. As they fight against international terrorist, a shocking truth hidden behind peaceful society is revealed.

Trailer Teaser 1 and 2

Okay, on paper the plot is interesting and I’m on board checking it out. Also, since they made it sounds so ‘wow’ my expectation is higher too – what with the ‘a shocking truth that will shake the whole nation’ statement and so forth. It had better be one heck of a satisfying shock because I really dislike having to watch something that ‘talk big’ and ended up being disappointed when the conflict presented is not-at-all convincing!

Nishijima Hidetoshi is a wonderful actor whom I’ve got my eyes on since… hmm, I can’t remember which drama but he made a really deep impression in General Rouge in Gaisen and from then on, I opted to check out most of his dramas. I love him in Strawberry Night with Takeuchi Yuko as well; only that ended with my bleeding heart after watching the movie version. That said, he looks really worn out and rugged in here, my goodness. I can only assume he’s trying to channel his character Kuraki. All the other casts are familiar faces and have been in many dramas and movies I have seen over the years.

As usual the teaser trailers show nothing spoilerific so we will have to watch the drama to find out if it is indeed as good as they have advertised. What we know now is that it is pretty obvious the drama is done on the level of movie scale based on the teaser trailer so I supposed we can first assume we would at least be impressed by the cinematography.

More Promotional Stills

